Cracking Open A New Chapter

I wanted to pull some cobwebs off of this thing for a moment to mention that Jan has written a manuscript pulling from her experiences and perspective while this whole story was building and unraveling. Read some excerpts on Facebook here. I have found the excerpts to be compelling thus far, and I wish her much success.

It’s no secret that I don’t maintain or visit this blog much, but I THINK I successfully changed the settings to allow comments again – Monitored by my approval. They will sit and wait in a pretty little queue until released. No time or energy for the fighting, it’s simply exhausting.

On other notes, I am reading Masquerade again for the umpteenth time…

 

 

~ by cheetah14 on August 3, 2016.

5 Responses to “Cracking Open A New Chapter”

  1. It’s been over 30 years since my husband was murdered by John Fry on Casper St. In the last three I wrote a manuscript tentatively titled Till Death We Did Part, which offers an insider perspective on something most people will never experience. It allows the reader to vicariously wonder “Could that happen to me?” We’re all interested in personal survival. As I said before memoirs about tragedy shoudn’t be viewed as mere entertainment. My manuscript hopefully illustrates the ripple effect of homicide, not just what captures headlines, not “just the facts,” not just the objective descripton of the perpetrator and deceased.

    I’m frequently asked “Why now? Why write this three decades later?” The answer has different pieces. One, a few years back I attended a symposium on somatic disorders. The speaker made the point that holding a secret inside for years takes a lot of energy and ultimately puts us at risk for illness. Second, I collected several autobiographies, over the years, of people who had been through trauma and came out of it OK. They were my inspiration. One was called “Come Back.” Another was “33 Men.” And yet another was called “Held Hostage.” One day I wondered if I could contribute to that genre. A third reason had to go with age and declining health. Last, but not least, I know there are people from my home town that wondered “Whatever happened?”

    I can never claim to be unbiased. It is my story. However, I read 11 pounds of court testimony, looked at old news footage, read the coroner’s report, combed through old photos, revisited Detroit in 2014 (and ironically saw the Temple being torn down) and re-read cards, letters and legal documents from that period in my life. I even interviewed my mom (age 95 now) and my twin sister about what they remember. So, in short, I tried to be even-handed. I do not yet have a lit agent but am actively seeking one.

    My request, in unison with Rachel, is please be civil if you post to this blog and speak to everyone – all readers. Thank you. Jan Canty August 2016

  2. Hi Jan.

    I, for one, have wondered how you’re doing. This must have been a painful endeavor but hopefully it will be published. I knew you and Al from coming into the Cadieux Cafe just about every week for mussels and to say we were shocked is an understatement. Everyone has wished for nothing but the best for you and continue to do so.
    The best of luck to you.

    Fern Misuraca

  3. Fern! Oh my goodness! I remember you so well! How ARE you? I saw your photo with your great-grandchild and I must say you look beautiful and much, much to young to be holding a grandchild, let alone one from the next generation. Time flies, yes? I am doing well. I visited your native country a few years ago. It was beautiful. I hope my book is a success and that it is useful to other so-called “survivors of homicide.” The Cadieux Cafe is mentioned in the book, by the way.

    • We are all fine and the Cadieux is holding it’s own. My son Paul and brother Ron are owners now and I still think we have the best mussels in town. I’m glad you were able to visit my beloved Belgium. Did you happen to visit Bruges? That is where we stay with my cousin when we go…beautiful city!!
      And yes…time sure does march on. My oldest grandson is 30 and the youngest is 4 and now with the little guy a new generation.
      We had a tragic homicide in the family last August when they found our nephew shot in the head and dumped in Detroit. My poor sister-in-law is still beside herself. No leads either and I think Detroit police closed the case. Very frustrating. It’s hard enough to lose someone but you’re right about “surviving homicide”…..it’s even more painful.
      I will be keeping a lookout for your book and wish you much success.

  4. Fern,
    I am very sorry to hear about your nephew. Your family has no doubt had a very rough year. It’s even worse that it’s an unsolved case.

    So, you are an “almost owner” of the Cadieux Cafe?! I vividly recall that photograph of the Queen on the back wall and – of course – feather bowling (which I only watched). The Cadieux Cafe is Detroit Landmark.

    No, I did not see Bruges. I only saw Brussels. I was on my way back from Paris and only had 1 1/2 day in Belgium. I remember the flowers and the bicycles very well.

    I certainly wish you the best. It is so good hearing from you.

    Jan

Leave a Reply

 
